Unsafe Foods

Unsafe, Not Gluten-Free Food List

A

Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum) Alcohol (Spirits - Specific Types) Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Atta Flour

B

Barley Grass (can contain seeds) Barley Hordeum vulgare Barley Malt Beer (most contain barley or wheat) Bleached Flour Bran Bread Flour Brewer's Yeast Brown Flour Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts) Bulgur Wheat

C

Cereal Binding Chilton Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum) Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum) Cookie Crumbs Cookie Dough Cookie Dough Pieces Couscous Criped Rice

D

Dinkle (Spelt) Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate Durum wheat (Triticum durum)

E

Edible Coatings Edible Films Edible Starch Einkorn (Triticum monococcum) Emmer (Triticum dicoccon) Enriched Bleached Flour Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour Enriched Flour

F

Farina Farina Graham Farro Filler Flour (normally this is wheat) Fu (dried wheat gluten)

G

Germ Graham Flour Granary Flour Groats (barley, wheat)

H

Hard Wheat Heeng Hing Hordeum Vulgare Extract Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

K

Kamut (Pasta wheat) Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce) Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce) Kluski Pasta

M

Maida (Indian wheat flour) Malt Malted Barley Flour Malted Milk Malt Extract Malt Syrup Malt Flavoring Malt Vinegar Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum) Matza Matzah Matzo Matzo Semolina Meringue Meripro 711 Mir

N

Nishasta

O

Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum) Orzo Pasta

P

Pasta Pearl Barley Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum) Perungayam Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum) Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)

R

Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used) Roux Rusk Rye

S

Seitan, Semolina, Semolina Triticum, Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum) , Small Spelt, Spirits (Specific Types), Spelt (Triticum spelta), Sprouted Wheat or Barley, Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein , Strong Flour, Suet in Packets.

T

Tabbouleh Tabouli Teriyaki Sauce Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii) Triticale X triticosecale Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil

U

Udon (wheat noodles) Unbleached Flour

V

Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum) Vital Wheat Gluten

W

Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
Wheat amino acids
Wheat Bran Extract
Wheat, Bulgur
Wheat Durum Triticum
Wheat Germ Extract
Wheat Germ Glycerides
Wheat Germ Oil
Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
Wheat Nuts
Wheat Protein
Wheat Triticum aestivum
Wheat Triticum Monococcum
Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
Whole-Meal Flour
Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made,
and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

Artificial Color4 Baking Powder4 Caramel Color1, 3 Caramel Flavoring1, 3 Clarifying Agents4 Coloring4 Dextrins1,7 Dextrimaltose1,7 Dry Roasted Nuts4 Emulsifiers4 enzymes4 Fat Replacer4 Flavoring6 Food Starch1, 4 Food Starch Modified1, 4 Glucose Syrup4 Gravy Cubes4 Ground Spices4 HPP4 HVP4 Hydrolyzed Plant Protein4 Hydrolyzed Protein4 Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein4 Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate4 Hydroxypropylated Starch4 Maltose4 Miso4 Mixed Tocopherols4 Modified Food Starch1, 4 Modified Starch1, 4 Natural Flavoring6 Natural Flavors6 Natural Juices4 Non-dairy Creamer4 Pregelatinized Starch4 Protein Hydrolysates4 Seafood Analogs4 Seasonings4 Sirimi4 Smoke Flavoring4 Soba Noodles4 Soy Sauce4 Soy Sauce Solids4 Sphingolipids4 Stabilizers4 Starch1, 4 Stock Cubes4 Suet4 Tocopherols4 Vegetable Broth4 Vegetable Gum4 Vegetable Protein4 Vegetable Starch4 Vitamins4 Wheat Starch5

Notes

1) If this ingredient is made in North America it is likely to be gluten-free. 3) The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process. 4) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient. 5) Most celiac organizations in the USA and Canada do not believe that wheat starch is safe for celiacs. In Europe, however, Codex Alimentarius Quality wheat starch is considered acceptable in the celiac diet by most doctors and celiac organizations. This is a higher quality of wheat starch than is generally available in the USA or Canada. 6) According to 21 C.F.R. S 101,22(a)(3): [t]he terns natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof. Whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional. 7) Dextrin is an incompletely hydrolyzed starch. It is prepared by dry heating corn, waxy maize, waxy milo, potato, arrowroot, WHEAT, rice, tapioca, or sago starches, or by dry heating the starches after: (1) Treatment with safe and suitable alkalis, acids, or pH control agents and (2) drying the acid or alkali treated starch. (1) Therefore, unless you know the source, you must avoid dextrin.


gf/unsafe-foods.txt · Last modified: 10/10/2013 14:21 (external edit)